All Balls Don’t Bounce

Completely Random Sports Non Sequiturs From A Completely Random Hip Hop Head

NFL Week 1 Wrap-Up

Posted by hiphopmama on September 9, 2008

They couldn’t install our satellite dish on Saturday, so I didn’t get the NFL Sunday Ticket for week 1. As a result, I missed some good games from teams I like that I had desperately wanted to see. Missing these ones hurt the most:

– St. Louis 3, Philadelphia 38

If there’s one team I’ve adopted as my own the last decade, it’s been the Eagles. McNabb made me a very happy woman by loading up the stat sheet and helping me win my fantasy football league in 2004, and I’ve been on the bandwagon ever since. It’s been a rough few years in Philly, but I was tentatively hoping for better results this year. If the first game is any indication (which it usually isn’t), they may finally be back on form. McNabb went 21/33 for 361 yards and 3 touchdowns, completely routing the Rams. The defense stepped up too, holding St. Louis’ usually explosive offense to a field goal. Would’ve been a great one to watch, I’m sure.

– Carolina 26, San Diego 24

I lived in southern California for six of the last eight years, so we saw a lot of Chargers games. I love LT and have usually rooted for them, except last year after they sacked Schottenheimer. On the Panthers side, my former high school-mate Ricky Manning, Jr., was drafted by Carolina and was there for the ’03-’04 playoff run, where he played a key role on their defense. Granted, he’s ended up looking like somewhat of a jock asshole in the years since I knew him as a friend’s boyfriend in high school, but I’ve proudly kept an eye on his career, as if my association with him could in any way reflect on me. Anyway, I tend to pull for the Panthers too, so this would have been another great one to watch. Alas, DirecTV dropped the ball and I had to settle for highlights of this nail-biter, in which Rivers took the lead with his third TD pass only to be one-upped by Delhomme, whose pass to Dante Rosario at the back of the end zone wrapped things up with the clock at double zero. It was a stunning finish, or so I hear.

– Tampa Bay 20, New Orleans 24

I can’t lie – I’ve been completely caught up in the Saints hype since their miraculous post-Katrina season. Drew Brees is a consummate professional who has pushed on after being told he wasn’t big enough, so it’s been great to see him do so well down in the Bayou. It sucks that they picked up Jeremy Shockey, but I could’ve looked past it, especially in the wake of Gustav. (That area just can’t catch a break. At least this time the Republican administration knew how to pander acceptably.) This was another one that was close till the end, when Scott Fujita halted the Bucs’ last-ditch scoring attempt by intercepting a ball intended for Ike Hilliard. I hear it was a tough, hard-nosed game. Too bad I couldn’t tell you for myself.

– Jacksonville 10, Tennessee 17

This one didn’t end up hurting as much because the game wasn’t that impressive, but I would have liked to see these two defenses go head to head on opening day. The Titans’ D won the game, holding the Jags to 187 yards on offense and 33 rushing yards. This after they had one of the most dynamic rushing attacks last season. Neither quarterback looked particularly good, and Vince Young was knocked out of the game with a knee injury in the fourth quarter. The Titans are saying it’s not serious, but official word on that is still pending. I guess missing this one wasn’t that big a disappointment after all.

Of course, the biggest story of the week was Tom Brady’s season-ending injury. The Patriots said today that he’ll undergo surgery to repair a torn ACL, causing him to miss the remainder of the season. It sucks to see a player of his caliber go out like that, especially so early in the season, but I can’t say I feel bad for the Patriots. I hate the damn team, and as much as it pains me to say it, they’ll probably still be easily in playoff contention at the end of the year. Matt Cassel doesn’t need to do anything spectacular to keep the Pats on track, and he’s been around and watching Brady long enough to have picked some stuff up. I still have my fingers crossed that they’ll fall flat, though.

Last but not least, after tonight’s game the debates can officially start on who had the better opening week: Brett Favre or Aaron Rodgers? Their stats were pretty comparable (Rodgers: 18/22, 178 yds, 1 TD; Favre: 15/22, 194 yds, 2 TD), but Rodgers did it against a much better defense and even tacked on a rushing touchdown on a quarterback sneak. I’ve been completely turned off by the Brett Favre shenanigans this off-season, so I’m pulling heavily for Rodgers and the Packers to do well. The Jets seem likely to be in playoff contention, and I’m hoping the Packers can match them. After week 1, they’re on equal footing.

Leave a Reply

 
