All Balls Don’t Bounce

Completely Random Sports Non Sequiturs From A Completely Random Hip Hop Head

Inter 1 – 0 Juventus: Lesser of Two Evils?

Posted by hiphopmama on November 24, 2008

 

  • 1-0 Muntari, 72′

This match-up for me is like watching the Cowboys go at it with the Redskins. I detest the Cowboys with a passion, always have, for their general team attitude and the asshole-ish personalities that seem to be magnetically drawn to the squad. But I make it a political point to root against the Redskins for their disgusting name and its horrible legacy offensive behavior and genocidal ambitions. (Whatever happened to this thing not being political?) It’s impossible to root for either team, which makes it almost excruciating to watch. The best I can hope for is a close game that requires both teams to play their big guns the whole time, leading to as many players as possible knocking the shit out of each other and, hopefully, knocking them both out of contention.

In soccer, I can at least hope for a draw, but it’s still not fun to watch. I don’t like Inter for pretty clear cut reasons, the biggest being that I just don’t like a lot of their players. I don’t mind a bit of cockiness from a player, and I probably have a higher tolerance for it than most. But Ibra still strikes me as a pompous ass. On top of that, he doesn’t show up in the biggest games, so he has little to be so brash about. Adriano is just plain worthless and, despite utterly wasting most of his vast array of talents, he carries himself as if he is owed something. And finally, Materazzi is a dick. I don’t think that needs any more explanation. I can’t bring myself to root for Juve for more nebulous reasons. The year when I formed my main allegiances was 2006-07, when they happened to be serving a stint in Serie B for the match-fixing allegations that surfaced against so many Italian teams. Because of this, they were mostly off my radar. I’ll admit that the Calciopoli scandal still leaves a bad taste in my mouth in regards to Juve, although I’m sure many more teams than those involved have participated in similar stuff. Still, Juve’s ties to this mafioso business were pretty clear and seemed worse than most, which makes it hard to root for them. In all honesty, the taint of all that really hangs over a lot of Italian football, but Juve bears the brunt of it, for me as well as others. 

With these and other factors in mind, I eventually came down on the side of the Bianconeri. I guess I figured that personal vendettas weighed more than institutional ones – and that Inter was probably far from innocent anyway. Plus, I decided that seeing Mourinho lose to Ranieri, the man he replaced at Chelsea, would be a welcome site. 

Needless to say, I was mildly disappointed with the way things played out. Inter were the better side for most of the match, putting more pressure on Juve and creating more goal scoring chances. Ibra fittingly missed his one clear shot at scoring (after netting two beautiful goals last week against Palermo), and Adriano also saw a number of chances go wanting. The home team finally went ahead in the 72nd when Ibra’s “pass” fell to Muntari, who struck it home. Del Piero produced a few opportunities, but other than that Juve were unable to really threaten Inter, who finished the weekend 3 points clear of AC Milan and 6 clear of Juve and fourth place Napoli.

It was disheartening to see Inter win and move further ahead at the top of the table, but it was even more frustrating to see Juve put up so little of a fight, especially after they had seemed to own the Nerazzurri in recent games. It also pains me to see the Special One have more reason to be smug, although I suppose there is very little that would entirely erase this problem. Luckily, it was only Juve and not AC Milan who fell to Inter, because that would have been much more painful. Still, I can only hope Napoli make them pay when they come to the San Siro this week.

Muntari’s goal:

Leave a Reply

 
