All Balls Don’t Bounce

Completely Random Sports Non Sequiturs From A Completely Random Hip Hop Head

The Bobcats??

Posted by hiphopmama on January 27, 2009

That fucking mouthguard again...  

That fucking mouthguard again…

Charlotte 117, LA Lakers 110

(35-9)

I don’t know what to say about this one. That’s not me trying to be cute about my shock at this game’s outcome. I just had no idea this game was on NBATV, and thus blacked out on the regular League Pass channel, so I missed all but the second overtime. Therefore, I have no idea what to say about the loss.

It’s probably better this way, because I don’t know if I could have stomached a full game of this crap. After all that talk about how we have our full lineup back, and how intimidating a force we are with Bynum finally coming into his own, and everyone finally committed to giving the necessary energy (okay, maybe I made that one up), to go out and lose to the friggin’ Bobcats is inexcusable. I know mama said there’ll be days like this, and I can’t say much since I didn’t watch most of the horror for myself, but it has to come down to complacency. How else do we lose a game like this, and at home, no less? We were coming off that awesome win over the Spurs, we saw the Bobcats at home ahead of a number of daunting road trips, and we let up a little. Or maybe a lot. I can’t say for sure, so someone please fill me in in the comments. 

Because it took me a while to figure out that the viewing audience had actually voted for the privilege of watching this match-up, I was reduced to watching the action unfold on the stupid ESPN online GameCast, which is excruciatingly slow, by the way. We were up six in the first OT, Charlotte started chipping away, and then, out of nowhere, I see this: “Luke Walton enters the game for Kobe Bryant.” Huh? Come again? I knew what the answer must be, but I had to check just to be sure. So over to the box score I went to confirm that Kobe had picked up his sixth just when we needed him the most. It’s so rare for him to be in any kind of foul trouble, especially at the end of games when he’s so keyed in, that it took me a second to believe it even when I read it. Because once Kobe went out, you knew it was over. I got to give it up to Drew, because he did his utmost to salvage our pride, but it was too little too late by that point. And this time, the Bobcats didn’t miss their free throws, as they apparently did at the end of regulation to let us back in it in the first place.

Argh. That’s the best I can give you on this one.

One Response to “The Bobcats??”

  1. Josh said

    Um … yeah. What? That was my reaction too. I actually watched the game though.

    Very sloppy, choppy and full of mistakes. But Bynum was the man again tonight … he just couldn’t do it alone. Gasol had a rare, “what the hell am I doing out here” night … seriously – air balls and everything … very odd and uncomfortable to watch. I’ll let him off the hook because it IS so rare to see that. Trevor got hurt late in the game … they said maybe a concussion – not sure. Kobe … ho-hum in the first half. I’ll be honest … it didn’t seem like he was super into this game until sh&t started to go down and it neared the end of the game. He turned into Duke Nuke-em and brought us back into it ( as usual ) … FIsh made the big 3 to take us into over-time. Both over-times were just pitiful. Let’s face it … we all knew it was over when Kobe fouled out with 39 seconds in the first OT. Kobe and Raja went at it all night and that was the primary reason Kobe had a full count toward the end of the game. All they had to do was hold on for 39 seconds … play D or something. Nope, couldn’t do it.

    In all honesty … they should be able to beat the Bobcats in a 5 minute battle without Kobe. But guess what … when was the last time we had to close out a game without the Black Mamba? I’m gonna say never … not with the team we currently have. So, it was a good test I guess … a test that we ultimately failed and proof that the Lakers are not championship material without Kobe. Sad … they just aren’t though.

    I guess the truth hurts sometimes.

Leave a Reply

 
